Skip to content

Proposed changes to political divisions in Derbyshire

2 February 2024

You’re invited to have your say on a new political map for Derbyshire, designed to ensure county councillors represent around the same number of people.

Following a public consultation, the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) has published changes to the electoral division boundaries in Derbyshire and is recommending the number of county councillors remain the same at 64.

But instead of 3 of the county’s 61 divisions having 2 councillors, there would be 64 divisions with one councillor representing each.

Other changes include:

  • an additional councillor in South Derbyshire – increasing from 8 to 9 – reflecting the growth in population in that area
  • a reduction of one councillor in Chesterfield - from 9 to 8 - to reflect a slight decrease in population
  • revised division pattern in Bolsover to avoid a split in the town centre

A 10-week consultation runs until 1 April 2024 to find out what local residents think of the proposals.

Have your say on the LGBCE website.